You can use Messenger’s message status icon to determine if someone has blocked you. SOPA Images/Getty Images There’s no built-in tool that lets you know if someone has blocked you on Facebook Messenger. However, you can infer that you’ve been blocked on Messenger from the state of the status icon on a message you’ve sent.If you send a message to someone and the message is not delivered, meaning an unfilled check mark icon appears, you may have been blocked. For more stories go to www.BusinessInsider.co.za.
Facebook doesn’t make it easy to know whether someone has blocked you.
They do this for privacy and security reasons, which means that, unfortunately, you won’t get confirmation that someone has blocked your account.
However, it is possible to deduce whether you’ve been blocked based on how the Messenger app behaves when you try to send a message.
Here’s how you can tell if someone’s blocked you on the Facebook messaging app.
When you use the Messenger app on your phone or in a browser on your desktop, you are probably familiar with the status icons next to the messages you send. There are four such icons:
An unfilled, empty circle means the message has not been sent. This is typically because you don’t have any internet access when you try to send a message. An unfilled icon with a check mark means the message has been sent but not delivered to the recipient.A check mark icon that’s filled in means the message has been delivered.An icon that’s filled with your recipient’s profile picture means it has been read. You can tell if a message has been received or read based on the status icon. Dave Johnson/Business Insider
As long as the recipient is logged into Facebook, your message should be delivered within a few moments, which means you’ll see the check mark icon’s filled-in version. Of course, it might not be read for a while; your recipient needs to open Messenger and view the message thread for that to happen.
If you see this status icon but suspect the user is otherwise active on Facebook, you have probably been blocked. Dave Johnson/Business Insider
If you send a message to someone and the message is not delivered, meaning that only an unfilled check mark icon appears, it generally means one of two things:
The user has not logged into Facebook.The user has blocked you on Messenger.
It’s not always possible to tell the difference, but if you see that the recipient has posted to his or her Facebook page or comments on other people’s posts, that implies he or she is logged into Facebook. If your message remains undelivered, you are probably blocked.